Thoughts From A College Senior Approaching Graduation

Screen Shot 2016-04-01 at 3.26.10 PM

This is a personal entry, and I have a feeling this will be Part 1 of a series of reflections on this topic.  On June 12, 2016, I will officially walk across that stage with a diploma in my hand, only to be drop-kicked into the real world.  This year has been incredibly bittersweet.

I am quite possibly the most nostalgic person alive, and my life is a constant battle to forget various tidbits from my past.  I’ve made a lot of progress in terms of personal growth over the past year, and I’ve lost and gained more than I would have thought possible.

I’m starting to realize how little the things I once lost my head over actually matter in the big picture.  My new motto for the remainder of the school year is “will this matter after graduation?” Personal drama I was losing my head over a month ago will be meaningless once I kiss the University of Oregon goodbye.  That idea is both comforting and sad, because it means coping with change- a skill I’ve never had.  I’m what is best explained as an “emotional pack rat.”  I still keep texts from people I haven’t spoken to in seven months. I agonize for weeks over switching my desktop background.  I can give you a detailed list of every heartbreak I’ve ever had, right down to when my fourth-grade crush didn’t notice my stylin’ new bell bottom jeans.  It’s been a liberation as well as a struggle accepting the fact that in the grand scheme of things, most of the interpersonal drama I’ve gone through in college won’t matter after graduation.

All the ex-lovers who’ve texted me in the middle of the night? They won’t matter.
Boys who I’ve cried over? They won’t matter.
Girls I can’t stand? They won’t matter.
All the rules and regulations of my sorority? They won’t matter.

It’s all about perspective.

Do I have regrets? Maybe a few.  I don’t regret letting people into my life who ended up hurting me, because they were lessons learned. However, I do regret people I may have hurt, or who I never made things right with.  One thing I certainly regret is that it took me so long to get serious about health and personal fitness- I still cringe thinking about all the frozen food I consumed my sophomore year.

In any case, I’m eager to see what the final two months of college will bring.

Part 2 | Part 3


hcyhm-signature-non-grad-photo

 

2 thoughts on “Thoughts From A College Senior Approaching Graduation

Leave a Reply

