Thoughts From a College Senior Approaching Graduation: Part 3

champagne-shutterstock_151362566-940x896

T- one month and 3 days until the Big Day

If one person asks me “what are your plans for after graduation?” I’m going to hit them in the face. I’m trying, okay? I talked about this in my last post, but I’ve sent out a hundred job applications and scored several interviews- but nothing concrete.  Rejection sucks.

One thing I learned: Skype interviews are the devil.  A couple weeks ago, I had a Skype interview for this company in San Francisco, and I thought I had prepared for everything. I was dressed professionally, I had cleaned out the side of my room they would be facing, I had completed the assignment they gave me. The one thing I didn’t account for was my apartment’s sporadic wi-fi connection, which can be described as tenuous at best.

Long story short, the interview was a complete disaster. Audio cut out, video froze, call dropped multiple times over the course of several attempts. They insisted it didn’t matter on the phone, but I knew the truth. The mood was ruined, the professional tone a distant memory. I wanted to crawl into a hole and die. I called my mom afterwards and cried.

Trying To Keep In Mind:

  • One bad interview does not make you a failure.
  • Rejection doesn’t make you a failure.
  • At least I have a LinkedIn page and a decent resume.

Other Thoughts:

  • Cover letters are the actual worst.
  • If I wrote, in a fit of desperation, “just hire me please I’m really smart” would it work?

Part 1 | Part 2


hcyhm-signature-non-grad-photo

2 thoughts on “Thoughts From a College Senior Approaching Graduation: Part 3

Leave a Reply

