Two Months, One Graduation, and A Whole New City Later

13450080_10206431681097182_1932197872581800266_n

The prodigal daughter returns. I’m sorry for my two-month absence, but more has changed in the past 60 days than I could have ever imagined.

 

My Graduation: So Long, and Thanks For All The Laughs:

On June 12, 2016, I graduated from the University of Oregon’s School of Journalism with a BA in Public Relations. I am incredibly thankful to have had the experiences I’ve had, good and bad. It’s still strange to think that I’m not a college student anymore.

 

My Internship: Expect The Unexpected:

f4003584e847990e3cae4b5d8062e342-los-angelesImage credit: lonelyplanet.com

First and foremost, I’d like to apologize for all the time I spent on this blog whining about my seemingly hopeless postgrad future. I went through multiple interviews and rejections, only to end up somewhere I never would have expected. I’m proud to announce I landed a publishing internship in… Los Angeles. It’s a far cry from my native Bay Area, but at least it’s my home state.

LA has been a “happy accident.” I’d never been there, save a Disneyland trip at age nine. For so long, I has always assumed that I would just get a job in San Francisco and live with my parents until I saved enough to move out. Suddenly, I found myself in my Oregon apartment, frantically refreshing my email, sobbing over how I would never get a job and should just resign myself to a sad life in retail, when I saw an email from the company I had just Skyped with. I read the words “We’ll call you tomorrow, but we’re pretty sure we’re going to offer you the position” and I screamed so loudly I scared the cat. They called me the following afternoon, and I felt my life falling into place. It seemed so serendipitous, yet so fitting.

After 3 weeks of LA living, the City of Angels is growing on me. Longer blog post about that later.

I’ll try to be more active, so prepare yourself for more of media musings, TV show rants, and post-grad life.

 


 

HCYHM signature 1_CIRCLE.png

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

