Goodbyes and New Beginnings

13333004_10206913034606168_6767211977556202548_n

“And so I close my eyes to old ends, and open my heart to new beginnings.”

If there’s one thing I’m bad at (other than math), it’s dealing with change. In the past few months, I’ve embraced more new things and said goodbye to more old facets of my life, both good and bad, than I can count.

I had exactly two days to drive back to the Bay Area and rest in my hometown of San Carlos, CA before packing up and moving to LA. As I drove away from the UO campus for the last time, I found myself wondering when I’d ever see it, let alone the state of Oregon, again. On my last night in good old San Carlos, I got dinner and drinks with my mom, two of my closest friends from high school, and their moms. They also graduated from their respective universities this spring, and will be in the same program to teach in France for the next year. As we laughed over cocktails, I realized how much we’d been through together- and how long it would be until we were all together again.

I know that this is growing up, but it all feels so final. I’m very grateful for these opportunities, but sometimes I feel like I just swan-dived into the ocean without a lifejacket.

New Beginnings:

  • Los Angeles
  • SoCal in general
  • Postgrad life
  • LA traffic
  • Internship
  • Adulting
  • Never having to take an exam again

Goodbyes:

  • the Bay Area
  • NorCal in general
  • Oregon
  • UO
  • Oregon friends
  • Bay Area friends
  • Gamma Phi Beta
  • Being a college student
  • my dog

hcyhm-signature-1

One thought on “Goodbyes and New Beginnings

Leave a Reply

